I found out where the library was in my youth village the day Wednesday and borrowed three books in Hebrew. I found it extremely useful when studying Korean to go through children’s books to learn words and grammar that is commonly used but often not in beginning textbooks. Because the grammar of Hebrew is so similar to English, I think I’ll have a lot easier than the first Korean book I read.

Tuesday  my boss had asked me how much Hebrew I knew and I had only responded with: ani mavin ktstat ivrit (I know a little Hebrew), and he had asked me if that was really true. Even though it was only a small sentence, it sort of broke the ice and the next day (Wednesday) I was able to practice all kinds of sentences with them.

After a few exchanges, they told me not to learn Hebrew. When I asked why, they said that if I knew Hebrew they couldn’t talk about us (the other foreign volunteer and myself) behind our backs while we were with them.

I was rather pleased. Although I still only know ‘ktsat’ (a little) Hebrew I was able to make them a bit unsure how much I knew — enough so that they were worried what I did or didn’t understand.

